Used BMW i4 battery health & degradation data
Last updated: · 3 sourced data points
In AVILOO's test data the i4 holds a high median SoH (about 94% at 100,000 km), similar to the best-performing larger EVs here. Sources: AVILOO GmbH.
Battery options: eDrive35, eDrive40 and M50 (Gran Coupé, 2021–); smaller pack in the eDrive35.
Estimate the expected battery health of a i4 by mileage and age → (uses the data on this page; not a test)
Battery health by mileage (independent tests)
| Mileage | Median SoH | Range covering 99% of tested cars |
|---|---|---|
| 50,000 km (≈31,069 mi) | 95.6% | 90.6% – 98.0% |
| 100,000 km (≈62,137 mi) | 94.3% | 88.8% – 97.3% |
| 150,000 km (≈93,206 mi) | 93.6% | 87.5% – 96.9% |
Source: AVILOO GmbH, published 2026-09-03; n=7,252 tests of this model (all battery sizes grouped, global). Bar scale 75–100%.
Battery health vs mileage – all sources
Text summary of the chart
- AVILOO test: 3 points (from datasets of n=7,252 tests in total; dataset medians, lines show the 99% band), 93.6% to 95.6% between 50,000 and 150,000 km
All data points
| Variant | Mileage | SoH | Type | Sample | Measured by | Source (date) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All battery variants grouped | 50,000 km ≈ 31,069 mi |
95.6% 99% band 90.6%–98.0% |
Median | n=7,252 | AVILOO FLASH Test | AVILOO GmbH (2026-09-03) Band = central 99% of tested cars (p0.5–p99.5). |
| All battery variants grouped | 100,000 km ≈ 62,137 mi |
94.3% 99% band 88.8%–97.3% |
Median | n=7,252 | AVILOO FLASH Test | AVILOO GmbH (2026-09-03) Band = central 99% of tested cars (p0.5–p99.5). |
| All battery variants grouped | 150,000 km ≈ 93,206 mi |
93.6% 99% band 87.5%–96.9% |
Median | n=7,252 | AVILOO FLASH Test | AVILOO GmbH (2026-09-03) Band = central 99% of tested cars (p0.5–p99.5). |
Data gaps: No non-AVILOO data yet: the main English owner forum blocks automated access and the German owner posts we found were for near-new cars in winter. Owner data wanted.
What to check when buying a used i4
- All i4s are recent (2021-on) and still inside the 8-year battery warranty; confirm the first-registration date and service history. (BMW UK)
- Compare any test result with the ranges above and with the ADAC rule of thumb: at least 92% at 50,000 km, 88% at 100,000 km, 84% at 150,000 km, 80% at 200,000 km. (ADAC)
Battery warranty (UK)
BMW UK: high-voltage battery covered against material defects or excessive loss of capacity for up to 8 years from first registration or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first (BMW's page does not state a % threshold; check the warranty handbook). Source: BMW UK, checked 2026-10-20. Always confirm the terms for the specific car with the manufacturer.
Check how much battery warranty a i4 has left → (by registration date and mileage)
Sources used on this page
2 sources · 3 data points: 0 from non-AVILOO methods, 3 measured with AVILOO tests.
- Large test datasets (1 source, 3 data points): AVILOO GmbH
- Manufacturer (1 source): BMW UK
Owner-reported and listing values are single cars (n=1) read from the car, an app or an OBD tool – useful examples, not averages. Range-retention figures (Recurrent) measure range, not capacity. Full details: methodology & all sources.
Get this specific car tested
Ad disclosure: we are not currently paid by these providers. If that changes, the specific links will be marked "(paid link)" and this box labelled "Ad". How we make money.
Model averages can't tell you about the car in front of you. An independent battery test (typically a short OBD plug-in test, some remote) gives an SoH figure and often a certificate you can use when negotiating.
- AVILOO – Independent OBD-based battery test (FLASH / Premium) with certificate; available via partners in the UK and EU.
- Generational – UK OBD plug-in test with certificate (SoH, range, remaining warranty, cell balance); sold through dealers and independent mobile testers.
- Moba – Postal OBD kit: you run the test yourself and post the box back for a digital battery certificate (Europe – check vehicle support and delivery country).
Prices change – check the provider's site. Provider names are used for identification only.
FAQ
What battery health is normal for a used BMW i4?
In AVILOO's 2026 report (independent tests, all battery sizes grouped) the median SoH was 95.6% at 50,000 km, 94.3% at 100,000 km and 93.6% at 150,000 km. 99% of tested cars at 100,000 km fell between 88.8% and 97.3%.
What is the BMW i4 battery warranty in the UK?
BMW UK: high-voltage battery covered against material defects or excessive loss of capacity for up to 8 years from first registration or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first (BMW's page does not state a % threshold; check the warranty handbook).
How can I check the battery of a specific BMW i4?
Use an independent battery test (OBD-based or remote) and compare the result with the ranges on this page. Model averages cannot tell you the condition of one specific car.
Get alerts for the BMW i4
We email (from alerts@usedevbatteryhealth.com) when new battery data is added for this model. Low volume, no spam, unsubscribe any time. We'll first send a confirmation email – you're only subscribed once you click the link in it.
Emails are sent via MailerLite (EU). We never share your address. Every email has an unsubscribe link.
Own a BMW i4? Share your battery health
Every owner report makes this data more useful. It takes 2 minutes. Add your car's data