Used BMW i3 battery health & degradation data
Last updated: · 2 sourced data points
The i3 is a popular used city EV. Carla's Swedish data puts the 120 Ah version 6th of 20 for battery health after >100,000 km (93.77%). Sources: Carla AB.
Battery options: 60 Ah (22 kWh), 94 Ah (33 kWh), 120 Ah (42 kWh); also i3 REx range-extender.
All data points
| Variant | Mileage | SoH | Type | Sample | Measured by | Source (date) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| i3 120 Ah | >100,000 km ≈ 62,137 mi |
93.8% | Average | n/a | AVILOO test (dealer) | Carla AB (2026-07-08) Average of tested cars with more than 100,000 km; sample size per model not published. |
| i3 60 Ah / 22 kWh (2016) | 175,000 km ≈ 108,740 mi |
85.6% | Single car | n=1 | Drive/discharge test + BMS readout | Bjørn Nyland (undated on page) 16.1 kWh usable vs 18.8 kWh new (calculated 85.6%); car BMS showed 84%. |
Data gaps: No published dataset for the 60 Ah and 94 Ah packs; one documented 60 Ah car (85.6% at 175,000 km). Owner data wanted.
What to check when buying a used i3
- Identify the battery generation (60/94/120 Ah) – they are very different cars in range terms. (Carla AB, Bjørn Nyland)
- The battery warranty runs 8 years from first registration (or 100,000 miles), so cars first registered before late 2018 are now outside it – an independent test matters more. (BMW UK)
- Compare any test result with the ranges above and with the ADAC rule of thumb: at least 92% at 50,000 km, 88% at 100,000 km, 84% at 150,000 km, 80% at 200,000 km. (ADAC)
Battery warranty (UK)
BMW UK: high-voltage battery covered against material defects or excessive loss of capacity for up to 8 years from first registration or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first (BMW's page does not state a % threshold; check the warranty handbook). Source: BMW UK, checked 2026-10-20. Always confirm the terms for the specific car with the manufacturer.
Get this specific car tested
Ad disclosure: we are not currently paid by these providers. If that changes, the specific links will be marked "(paid link)" and this box labelled "Ad". How we make money.
Model averages can't tell you about the car in front of you. An independent battery test (typically a short OBD plug-in test, some remote) gives an SoH figure and often a certificate you can use when negotiating.
- AVILOO – Independent OBD-based battery test (FLASH / Premium) with certificate; available via partners in the UK and EU.
- Generational – UK remote battery health assessment and certificate, used by dealers and fleets.
Prices change – check the provider's site. Provider names are used for identification only.
FAQ
What battery health is normal for a used BMW i3?
Published independent data is limited. The best available figure is 93.8% (average after >100,000 km, Carla 2026 (Sweden)). See the table for every data point and its source.
What is the BMW i3 battery warranty in the UK?
BMW UK: high-voltage battery covered against material defects or excessive loss of capacity for up to 8 years from first registration or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first (BMW's page does not state a % threshold; check the warranty handbook).
How can I check the battery of a specific BMW i3?
Use an independent battery test (OBD-based or remote) and compare the result with the ranges on this page. Model averages cannot tell you the condition of one specific car.
Get alerts for the BMW i3
We email (from alerts@usedevbatteryhealth.com) when new battery data is added for this model. Low volume, no spam, unsubscribe any time. We'll first send a confirmation email – you're only subscribed once you click the link in it.
Emails are sent via MailerLite (EU). We never share your address. Every email has an unsubscribe link.
Own a BMW i3? Share your battery health
Every owner report makes this data more useful. It takes 2 minutes. Add your car's data