⚡ UsedEVBattery

Home › Guides › MG4 LFP vs NMC battery

MG4 LFP vs NMC battery: which ages better on a used car? (UK)

Published · Last updated · based on 15 sourced MG4 data points and 22 sources

A used MG4 comes with either an LFP or an NMC battery, and buyers often hear that LFP lasts longer. This guide sets out which MG4 has which battery, what the published MG4 battery health figures show (and don't show), what bigger studies say about LFP vs NMC, and how to check the battery on the car you're looking at.

15
published MG4 battery health figures we found, all single cars (n=1) up to 55,000 km (≈34,175 mi): 6 LFP, 7 NMC and 2 with the battery not stated. AVILOO tests: LFP 94.8% (n=1), NMC 94.1%–97.6% (n=4). That's too few to rank the two batteries.

All MG4 figures with method and date: used MG4 battery data. Going to a viewing? Make a printable list of questions for the seller.

1. Which MG4 has which battery

VersionBattery (gross / usable)ChemistryUK listing (EV Database)Source
Standard Range51.0 / 50.8 kWhLFPOct 2022 – Feb 2026EV Database
Long Range64.0 / 61.7 kWhNMCOct 2022 – Feb 2026EV Database
XPOWER (AWD)64.0 / 61.7 kWhNMCAug 2023 – Feb 2026EV Database
Extended Range77.0 / 74.4 kWhNMCAug 2023 – Feb 2026EV Database

EV Database listings, checked 2026-10-27. Standard Range 51 kWh: LFP. Long Range 64 kWh, XPOWER 64 kWh and Extended Range 77 kWh: NMC.

Trim names don't always tell you the battery, so check the battery size in the advert and the paperwork, or ask an MG dealer to confirm it from the VIN. Don't confuse the MG4 with the MG4 Urban: ADAC describes it as a separate car on a different platform with a 53.8 kWh LFP battery (ADAC).

2. What the MG4 data shows so far

CarMileageSoHMeasured bySource (date)
LFP – 51 kWh (6 reports)
MG4 Standard 51 kWh LFP (one car)13,000 km
≈ 8,078 mi
95.0%MG service report (owner)GoingElectric forum (posts dated 2024-11-06 to 2026-04-07)
Owner-reported, n=1. Service report after 12 months (quoted 2024-11-06).
MG4 51 kWh (LFP), UK car22,829 km
≈ 14,185 mi
92.5%car's own figure (on an AVILOO report)Car360 (2025-07-15)
Single car (n=1). BMS value, not an independent AVILOO SoH (AVILOO score 94/100). Published mileage 14,185 miles.
MG4 Standard 51 kWh LFP (same car)26,000 km
≈ 16,156 mi
94.0%MG service report (owner)GoingElectric forum (posts dated 2024-11-06 to 2026-04-07)
Owner-reported, n=1. 2nd annual service, 24 months, posted 2024-11-06.
MG4 51 kWh (LFP)35,075 km
≈ 21,795 mi
94.8%AVILOO testCarma (2026-09-11)
Single car (n=1), Australia (hot climate – not UK conditions). Car's own BMS SoH on the same certificate: 93%.
MG4 Standard 51 kWh LFP (same car)38,000 km
≈ 23,612 mi
92.0%MG service report (owner)GoingElectric forum (posts dated 2024-11-06 to 2026-04-07)
Owner-reported, n=1. 3rd service, posted 2025-12-16.
MG4 Standard 51 kWh LFP (reg. 06/2023)45,000 km
≈ 27,962 mi
91.0%OBD/app reading (owner)GoingElectric forum (posts dated 2024-11-06 to 2026-04-07)
Owner-reported, n=1. OBD and app, posted 2026-02-19.
NMC – 64 / 77 kWh (7 reports)
MG4 Trophy Extended Range (one car)20,000 km
≈ 12,427 mi
99.0%MG service report (owner)MGEVs.com owner forum (2026-01-09 (thread start); posts to 2026-04-20)
Owner-reported, n=1. First service inspection report; ~50% DC fast charging (thread page posts up to 2026-04-20).
MG4 64 kWh (NMC), UK car20,582 km
≈ 12,789 mi
97.6%AVILOO testCar360 (2025-11-21)
Single car (n=1). Published mileage 12,789 miles. Car's own BMS SoH on the same certificate: 98%.
MG4 64 kWh (NMC)24,879 km
≈ 15,459 mi
94.1%AVILOO testAAA Auto (2026-06-09)
Single car (n=1), Slovakia. Car's own BMS SoH on the same certificate: 93%.
MG4 64 kWh NMC (another car)26,000 km
≈ 16,156 mi
96.0%MG service report (owner)GoingElectric forum (posts dated 2024-11-06 to 2026-04-07)
Owner-reported, n=1. 2nd inspection, "similar mileage" to 26,000 km, posted 2024-11-07.
MG4 64 kWh (NMC), UK car26,895 km
≈ 16,712 mi
97.3%AVILOO testCar360 (2025-12-23)
Single car (n=1). Published mileage 16,712 miles. Car's own BMS SoH on the same certificate: 98%.
MG4 64 kWh (NMC)42,725 km
≈ 26,548 mi
95.5%AVILOO testCRVO Ingrandes (2026-07-21)
Single car (n=1), France.
MG4 Long Range Trophy (2024, ex-demo)48,000 km
≈ 29,826 mi
96.0%MG service report (owner)MGEVs.com owner forum (posts dated 2025-11-04 and 2026-04-15)
Owner-reported, n=1. Nearly 2 years, posted 2026-04-15; mostly home charging.
Battery not stated (2 reports)
MG4 Trophy (one car)53,100 km
≈ 32,995 mi
98.0%MG service report (owner)MGEVs.com owner forum (posts dated 2025-11-04 and 2026-04-15)
Owner-reported, n=1. 3rd service, posted 2025-11-04 (33,000 mi).
MG4 Standard (2023, ex-lease)55,000 km
≈ 34,175 mi
92.0%OBD/app reading (owner)GoingElectric forum (posts dated 2024-11-06 to 2026-04-07)
Owner-reported, n=1. After 2 years, posted 2026-04-07; often charged 3–100%.

Every row is a single car (n=1). AVILOO tests calculate SoH independently; MG service reports and OBD/app readings show the car's own estimate, which owners report can move by several points between services (MGEVs.com owner forum). One LFP car is from Australia's hot climate. Every row is also on the MG4 data page.

What this does and doesn't show:

3. What bigger studies say about LFP vs NMC

So for most buyers: choose the battery size for the range you need, then check the individual car. Chemistry is a minor factor next to how that car has been used.

4. How to check either MG4 battery

AVILOO calculates SoH with its own method rather than copying the car's figure (AVILOO GmbH). Prices are on our buying guide, and how to read a battery health certificate explains each field.

5. Warranty and recalls: the same for both batteries

MG UK (warranty statement for cars registered on/after 1 Sep 2019, online version dated 1 Jan 2025): vehicle 7 years / 80,000 miles; the lithium-ion high-voltage battery is listed at 96 months / 100,000 miles, and a capacity drop below 70% of the original value is treated as excessive loss (repaired, or the battery replaced with a new or remanufactured one). Private-hire/taxi EVs have a shorter vehicle warranty, but the statement says the HV battery "in all cases" has 8 years / 100,000 miles from 1 Jan 2025. Confirm the cover for the specific car (VIN, registration date) with MG. (MG Motor UK, checked 2026-10-20)

Also see: Chinese EV battery guide (MG, BYD, Polestar…) · questions to ask an MG4 seller (printable) · battery state of health explained · general used-EV battery checklist · all models compared.

Sources used on this page

22 sources · 15 data points: 9 from non-AVILOO methods, 6 measured with AVILOO tests.

Owner-reported and listing values are single cars (n=1) read from the car, an app or an OBD tool – useful examples, not averages. Range-retention figures (Recurrent) measure range, not capacity. Full details: methodology & all sources.

We are not paid by the battery-test providers mentioned on this page. Links marked "paid link" in the "Useful products and services" box are affiliate links. See our disclosure.

Get this specific car tested

We are not paid by these test providers. How we make money.

Model averages can't tell you about the car in front of you. An independent battery test (typically a short OBD plug-in test, some remote) gives an SoH figure and often a certificate you can use when negotiating.

Prices change – check the provider's site. Provider names are used for identification only.

Useful products and services

Some links are paid links: we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. This never changes the battery data we show (disclosure).

FAQ

Which MG4 has the LFP battery?

The 51 kWh Standard Range MG4 has an LFP (lithium iron phosphate) battery. The 64 kWh Long Range, the 64 kWh XPOWER and the 77 kWh Extended Range have NMC (nickel manganese cobalt) batteries, according to EV Database. The later MG4 Urban is a separate car with a 53.8 kWh LFP battery.

Does the MG4 LFP battery degrade less than the NMC battery?

There isn't enough MG4 data to say. All published MG4 figures we found are single cars with different test methods, and the gaps between them are no bigger than the normal spread between cars. Larger data for another car, the Tesla Model 3, found the LFP version kept slightly more health above 100,000 km (93.3% average) than its nickel-based versions, and laboratory cell tests found LFP lasts more charge cycles. Neither is MG4 data.

Should I charge a used MG4 to 100%?

MG’s owner manual says a full slow (AC) charge is the only way for the battery to reach its balanced "equalisation" state, recommends doing one at regular intervals, and says the car shows "Please Slow-charge the Vehicle" if it hasn’t had one for a while. Do a full slow charge before reading or testing battery health. Follow the manual for day-to-day charging limits.

Is the MG4 battery warranty the same for LFP and NMC?

Yes. MG UK’s warranty statement lists the high-voltage battery at 8 years / 100,000 miles, and treats a fall below 70% of original capacity as excessive loss, whichever battery the car has. The statement says that from 1 January 2025 this applies in all cases, including private hire. Confirm the cover for the specific car with MG.

Get alerts for the MG4 EV

We email (from alerts@usedevbatteryhealth.com) when new battery data is added for this model. Low volume, no spam, unsubscribe any time. We'll first send a confirmation email – you're only subscribed once you click the link in it.

Emails are sent via MailerLite (EU). We never share your address. Every email has an unsubscribe link.

Own a MG4 EV? Share your battery health

Every owner report makes this data more useful. It takes 2 minutes. Add your car's data