[
 {
  "slug": "nissan-leaf",
  "name": "Nissan Leaf",
  "make": "Nissan",
  "short": "Leaf",
  "variants": "24 kWh, 30 kWh (first generation); 40 kWh and 62 kWh e+ (second generation, \"ZE1\")",
  "intro": "The Leaf is one of the cheapest ways into a used EV in the UK and was the second most popular used EV in 2025. Its battery is passively air-cooled (no liquid thermal management), so battery condition matters more than on most rivals.",
  "introSources": [
   "electrifying-used-2025",
   "recurrent-leaf"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Nissan UK: lithium-ion battery state-of-health guarantee covers capacity loss below 9 of 12 bars on the in-car capacity gauge. Pre-MY22 Leaf: 5 years / 60,000 miles. MY22-on Leaf: 8 years / 100,000 miles (whichever comes first). For Leaf Flex (battery lease) customers it applies for the lease duration.",
   "source": "nissan-uk-warranty"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Count the capacity bars on the dashboard gauge (12 = new). Missing bars mean lost capacity; below 9 bars is the warranty threshold.",
    "s": [
     "nissan-uk-warranty",
     "recurrent-leaf"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Know which pack you're buying: 24 kWh (early cars), 30 kWh, 40 kWh or 62 kWh e+. Independent model data below is for the second-generation ZE1 (40/62 kWh) only.",
    "s": [
     "recurrent-leaf",
     "aviloo-2026"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Expect a wider spread than most models: AVILOO found the Leaf ZE1 had the widest SoH range of its 20 models (central 99% band 85.4–95.4% at 50,000 km).",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-2026"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "In the Swedish Riddermarks data only 61.2% of tested Leaf ZE1 40 kWh cars were above 90% SoH (average mileage 73,610 km) – a test is especially worthwhile.",
    "s": [
     "riddermarks-2026"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Fast-charging uses CHAdeMO and the air-cooled 40/62 kWh packs can throttle rapid-charge speed after repeated back-to-back rapid charges.",
    "s": [
     "recurrent-leaf"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "No large independent SoH dataset for the 24 kWh and 30 kWh first-generation packs was found for v1. Recurrent (US) reports ~93% of original range after 3 years and ~91% after 5 years across all Leaf generations, but that is range, not SoH, and US climate. Owner contributions for 24/30 kWh cars are especially welcome."
 },
 {
  "slug": "tesla-model-3",
  "name": "Tesla Model 3",
  "make": "Tesla",
  "short": "Model 3",
  "variants": "Standard Range / RWD (LFP or NCA/NCM depending on year & factory), Long Range, Performance",
  "intro": "The Model 3 was the UK's best-selling used EV in 2025 (nearly 10% of used EV sales). Battery chemistry and cell supplier vary by version and year, and Swedish data shows this matters as much as mileage.",
  "introSources": [
   "electrifying-used-2025",
   "carla-2026-models"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Tesla UK (current terms): Model 3 RWD – 8 years or 100,000 miles; Model 3 Long Range / Performance – 8 years or 120,000 miles; minimum 70% battery capacity retention over the warranty period. The warranty transfers to new owners when ownership is transferred through Tesla. Older cars may be on earlier terms – check the car's Tesla account.",
   "source": "tesla-uk-warranty"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Find out the exact pack (LFP vs nickel-based, LG vs Panasonic cells). In Carla's data LFP Model 3s averaged 93.3% SoH after >100,000 km vs 88.2–89.8% for Panasonic packs.",
    "s": [
     "carla-2026-models"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Riddermarks: only 62.1% of Panasonic 77.8 kWh Model 3s were above 90% SoH (average 115,340 km), vs 97.6% of LG 78.8 kWh cars.",
    "s": [
     "riddermarks-2026"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Ask the seller to show the warranty status in the Tesla app (Specs & Warranty) – remaining warranty is valuable.",
    "s": [
     "tesla-uk-warranty"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Most independent data is from Swedish dealers and the global AVILOO dataset; there is little published UK-only Model 3 data. Tesla's own figure (85% after 200,000 miles) covers Long Range packs only."
 },
 {
  "slug": "tesla-model-y",
  "name": "Tesla Model Y",
  "make": "Tesla",
  "short": "Model Y",
  "variants": "RWD (LFP in many EU cars), Long Range, Performance",
  "intro": "The Model Y is now a common used buy in the UK (third most popular used EV in 2025). Independent data shows good retention, with LFP versions slightly ahead in Swedish dealer tests.",
  "introSources": [
   "electrifying-used-2025",
   "riddermarks-2026"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Tesla UK (current terms): Model Y RWD – 8 years or 100,000 miles; Model Y Long Range / Performance – 8 years or 120,000 miles; minimum 70% capacity retention over the warranty period.",
   "source": "tesla-uk-warranty"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Confirm battery type: Riddermarks measured 94.7% average SoH for LFP 60.5 kWh cars (avg 63,338 km) and 93.8% for LG 78.8 kWh cars (avg 68,403 km, n=1,137).",
    "s": [
     "riddermarks-2026"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "AVILOO notes up to 46 km of real-world range difference between the best and weakest Model Y at 150,000 km – the model average doesn't describe a specific car.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-2026-deep"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Check remaining battery warranty in the Tesla app.",
    "s": [
     "tesla-uk-warranty"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "No UK-specific Model Y dataset found yet."
 },
 {
  "slug": "hyundai-kona-electric",
  "name": "Hyundai Kona Electric",
  "make": "Hyundai",
  "short": "Kona Electric",
  "variants": "39 kWh and 64 kWh (first generation); second generation from 2023",
  "intro": "The Kona Electric is one of the best performers in independent battery data: it ranked 4th of 20 models in AVILOO's 2026 report and 2nd in Carla's Swedish high-mileage ranking.",
  "introSources": [
   "aviloo-2026",
   "carla-2026-models"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Hyundai UK: high-voltage battery warranty of 8 years or 100,000 miles for Kona EV 20MY and all newer production models (8 years or 125,000 miles for models first produced before 2020); 5 years / 100,000 miles for taxi, private hire or driving-school use. Covers repairs to restore at least 70% of original capacity.",
   "source": "hyundai-uk-warranty"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Check recall and software-update history with a Hyundai dealer (Hyundai says changes from battery-protecting software updates are not covered by the warranty).",
    "s": [
     "hyundai-uk-warranty"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Ask whether it was used as a taxi/private hire – that shortens the battery warranty to 5 years / 100,000 miles.",
    "s": [
     "hyundai-uk-warranty"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Independent data is mostly for the 64 kWh pack; little separate data for the 39 kWh version."
 },
 {
  "slug": "hyundai-ioniq-electric",
  "name": "Hyundai Ioniq Electric",
  "make": "Hyundai",
  "short": "Ioniq Electric",
  "variants": "28 kWh (2016–2019), 38.3 kWh (2019 facelift)",
  "intro": "The original Ioniq Electric hatchback (not the Ioniq 5) has a strong reputation for low degradation, but published data is limited to individual cars so far.",
  "introSources": [
   "fdrive-ioniq-2022"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Hyundai UK: 8 years or 125,000 miles for existing production models first produced before 2020, 8 years or 100,000 miles for new production models; restores at least 70% of original capacity. Check which applies to the specific car with a Hyundai dealer.",
   "source": "hyundai-uk-warranty"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Treat the individual-car results below as anecdotes, not averages: two 2018 28 kWh cars measured by fDrive.cz showed only 3.4–4.5% capacity loss at 78,000–224,000 km.",
    "s": [
     "fdrive-ioniq-2022"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "No large dataset found for v1 (the Ioniq Electric is not in the AVILOO or Carla published model lists). This page needs owner contributions."
 },
 {
  "slug": "hyundai-ioniq-5",
  "name": "Hyundai IONIQ 5",
  "make": "Hyundai",
  "short": "IONIQ 5",
  "variants": "58 kWh, 72.6 kWh, 77.4 kWh, 84 kWh",
  "intro": "In AVILOO's 2026 report the IONIQ 5 had the highest median SoH of all 20 models at 50,000 and 100,000 km.",
  "introSources": [
   "aviloo-2026"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Hyundai UK: 8 years or 100,000 miles for new production models (from 2020); restores at least 70% of original capacity. 5 years / 100,000 miles for taxi/private-hire use.",
   "source": "hyundai-uk-warranty"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Even for the best-rated model, AVILOO found the spread between cars grows to over 12 percentage points by 150,000 km.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-2026-deep"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Only AVILOO data so far; no UK-specific data."
 },
 {
  "slug": "kia-e-niro",
  "name": "Kia e-Niro / Niro EV",
  "make": "Kia",
  "short": "e-Niro",
  "variants": "e-Niro 39.2 kWh and 64 kWh (2019–2022); Niro EV 64.8 kWh (2022+)",
  "intro": "The Kia e-Niro topped Carla's 2026 Swedish ranking of battery health after more than 100,000 km (97.25% average).",
  "introSources": [
   "carla-2026-models"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Kia UK: EV battery covers a minimum capacity of 70% for 84 months / 100,000 miles (cars registered up to 31/12/2023) or 96 months / 100,000 miles (registered from 01/01/2024), whichever comes first. 26MY-on terms: 80% for 60 months/60,000 miles and 70% for 96 months/100,000 miles.",
   "source": "kia-uk-warranty"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Riddermarks: 99.6% of e-Niro 64 kWh cars tested were above 90% SoH (average 84,685 km).",
    "s": [
     "riddermarks-2026"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Independent data covers the 64 kWh pack; no separate data for the 39.2 kWh version yet."
 },
 {
  "slug": "kia-ev6",
  "name": "Kia EV6",
  "make": "Kia",
  "short": "EV6",
  "variants": "58 kWh, 77.4 kWh, 84 kWh",
  "intro": "Kia's EV6 shows high retention in Swedish dealer data: 95.95% average after >100,000 km (Carla) and 96.4% at ~79,500 km (Riddermarks).",
  "introSources": [
   "carla-2026-models",
   "riddermarks-2026"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Kia UK: 70% minimum capacity for 84 months / 100,000 miles (registered up to 31/12/2023) or 96 months / 100,000 miles (registered from 01/01/2024).",
   "source": "kia-uk-warranty"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Riddermarks: 100% of 242 EV6 77.4 kWh cars tested were above 90% SoH.",
    "s": [
     "riddermarks-2026"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Not part of the AVILOO 20-model report; only Swedish averages so far (no mileage curve)."
 },
 {
  "slug": "vw-id3",
  "name": "Volkswagen ID.3",
  "make": "Volkswagen",
  "short": "ID.3",
  "variants": "45 kWh, 58 kWh, 77 kWh (net)",
  "intro": "The ID.3 has the best-documented single-car history of any model here: ADAC's long-term test car still measured 89% SoH at 220,158 km despite frequent 100% and rapid charging.",
  "introSources": [
   "adac-id3-longterm"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Volkswagen guarantees that ID. model batteries retain at least 70% of their original net capacity for 8 years or 160,000 km (UK: check exact miles with the dealer).",
   "source": "vw-id3-adac-press"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Ask for the software version and update history – ADAC noted range stayed nearly constant thanks to efficiency updates even as capacity fell.",
    "s": [
     "vw-id3-adac-press"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Riddermarks: 100% of 237 ID.3 58 kWh cars tested were above 90% SoH (average 66,349 km).",
    "s": [
     "riddermarks-2026"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Little data split by battery size beyond the 58 and 77 kWh packs."
 },
 {
  "slug": "vw-id4",
  "name": "Volkswagen ID.4",
  "make": "Volkswagen",
  "short": "ID.4",
  "variants": "52 kWh, 77 kWh (net)",
  "intro": "One of Europe's best-selling EVs. AVILOO's variant-specific data for the 77 kWh car shows a median of 95.4% at 50,000 km and 90.9% at 150,000 km.",
  "introSources": [
   "aviloo-2026-deep"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Volkswagen: at least 70% of original net capacity for 8 years or 160,000 km for all ID. models (UK: confirm exact miles with the dealer).",
   "source": "vw-id3-adac-press"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Riddermarks: 95.4% of 588 ID.4 77 kWh cars tested were above 90% SoH (average 80,321 km).",
    "s": [
     "riddermarks-2026"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Carla's data shows a small difference by software generation (92.77% vs 92.27% for software 3.x cars after >100,000 km).",
    "s": [
     "carla-2026-models"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "No separate data for the 52 kWh pack yet."
 },
 {
  "slug": "bmw-i3",
  "name": "BMW i3",
  "make": "BMW",
  "short": "i3",
  "variants": "60 Ah (22 kWh), 94 Ah (33 kWh), 120 Ah (42 kWh); also i3 REx range-extender",
  "intro": "The i3 is a popular used city EV. Carla's Swedish data puts the 120 Ah version 6th of 20 for battery health after >100,000 km (93.77%).",
  "introSources": [
   "carla-2026-models"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "BMW UK: high-voltage battery covered against material defects or excessive loss of capacity for up to 8 years from first registration or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first (BMW's page does not state a % threshold; check the warranty handbook).",
   "source": "bmw-uk-warranty"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Identify the battery generation (60/94/120 Ah) – they are very different cars in range terms.",
    "s": [
     "carla-2026-models",
     "nyland-i3-60ah"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "The battery warranty runs 8 years from first registration (or 100,000 miles), so cars first registered before late 2018 are now outside it – an independent test matters more.",
    "s": [
     "bmw-uk-warranty"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "No published dataset for the 60 Ah and 94 Ah packs; one documented 60 Ah car (85.6% at 175,000 km). Owner data wanted."
 },
 {
  "slug": "renault-zoe",
  "name": "Renault Zoe",
  "make": "Renault",
  "short": "Zoe",
  "variants": "22 kWh, 41 kWh (Z.E. 40), 52 kWh (Z.E. 50); battery bought outright (\"i\") or leased",
  "intro": "A common budget used EV in the UK. Independent data places the Zoe among the lower-retention models (smaller pack, more cycles per km), with a wide spread between cars.",
  "introSources": [
   "aviloo-2026",
   "riddermarks-2026"
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Renault UK (ZOE i, battery owned): 8 years or 100,000 miles. Registered from 1 March 2020: covered if capacity falls below 80% (years 1–3), 70% (years 4–5) or 66% (years 6–8). Registered before 1 March 2020: below 66%. Leased batteries have separate terms in the lease agreement.",
   "source": "renault-ze-warranty"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Check whether the battery is owned or leased – a leased battery means ongoing monthly payments and separate terms.",
    "s": [
     "renault-ze-warranty"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Riddermarks: only 61.3% of Zoe 40 kWh cars tested were above 90% SoH (average 79,336 km).",
    "s": [
     "riddermarks-2026"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "AVILOO groups all Zoe battery sizes; no split by 22/41/52 kWh yet."
 },
 {
  "slug": "mg-mg4",
  "name": "MG4 EV",
  "make": "MG",
  "short": "MG4",
  "variants": "51 kWh Standard Range (LFP), 64 kWh Long Range (NMC), 64 kWh XPOWER (NMC) and 77 kWh Extended Range (NMC), 2022–2025 \"MY22-25\" cars. The later MG4 Urban is a separate car on a different platform",
  "intro": "The MG4 is a Chinese-brand hatchback whose battery chemistry depends on the version: the 51 kWh Standard Range uses LFP cells, while the 64 kWh and 77 kWh packs use NMC. The single-car certificates published so far range from 92.5% to 97.6% SoH at roughly 20,000–43,000 km; no large MG4 dataset has been published yet.",
  "introSources": [
   "evdb-mg4",
   "cert-car360-mg4-b",
   "cert-crvo-mg4"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "Standard Range 51 kWh: LFP. Long Range 64 kWh, XPOWER 64 kWh and Extended Range 77 kWh: NMC.",
   "s": [
    "evdb-mg4"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "Do a full slow (AC) charge before any reading: MG says a full slow charge is the only way for the battery to reach its balanced \"equalisation\" state, and the car shows \"Please Slow-charge the Vehicle\" if one has not been done for a while.",
    "s": [
     "mg4-owner-manual"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "MG service inspection reports can include an SoH figure, and OBD apps can read the car's own value – but owners report these car-reported figures can move by several points between services (e.g. 99% → 100% → 95% on one car), so treat them as a guide.",
    "s": [
     "mgevs-mg4-soh"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the MG4 51, 64 and 77 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "MG UK (warranty statement for cars registered on/after 1 Sep 2019, online version dated 1 Jan 2025): vehicle 7 years / 80,000 miles; the lithium-ion high-voltage battery is listed at 96 months / 100,000 miles, and a capacity drop below 70% of the original value is treated as excessive loss (repaired, or the battery replaced with a new or remanufactured one). Private-hire/taxi EVs have a shorter vehicle warranty, but the statement says the HV battery \"in all cases\" has 8 years / 100,000 miles from 1 Jan 2025. Confirm the cover for the specific car (VIN, registration date) with MG.",
   "source": "mg-uk-warranty",
   "short": "HV battery 8 yrs / 100,000 mi, below 70% capacity (MG UK statement 2025)"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Check which battery the car has (51, 64 or 77 kWh) – the 51 kWh car is LFP and the others NMC, so they are not directly comparable.",
    "s": [
     "evdb-mg4"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Do not confuse it with the MG4 Urban (2025-on), which ADAC describes as a separate car on the E3 platform with a 53.8 kWh LFP battery.",
    "s": [
     "adac-mg4-urban"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "On AVILOO certificates the car's own BMS figure is shown next to AVILOO's independent SoH – compare both.",
    "s": [
     "cert-car360-mg4-a",
     "cert-aaa-mg4"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "All MG4 figures here are single-car dealer certificates (n=1) from the UK, Slovakia, France and Australia – there is no published multi-car MG4 dataset yet (MG4 is not in AVILOO's 2026 20-model report or the Swedish Carla/Riddermarks lists). No high-mileage (>50,000 km) independent results found yet. Owner contributions are especially welcome.",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "mg-zs-ev",
  "name": "MG ZS EV",
  "make": "MG",
  "short": "ZS EV",
  "variants": "44.5 kWh (2019–2021, NMC), 51.1 kWh Standard Range (2022–2025) and 72.6 kWh Long Range (2021–2025 facelift, NMC)",
  "intro": "The ZS EV compact SUV was launched with a 44.5 kWh battery and later facelifted with 51.1 kWh and 72.6 kWh packs. Published battery results are individual cars only: a Bjørn Nyland measured test of a 2019 car, dealer AVILOO certificates and two owner reports, one from a very high-mileage taxi.",
  "introSources": [
   "evdb-mg-zs",
   "nyland-tb-degradation"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "2019–2021 44.5 kWh and 2021–2025 72.6 kWh Long Range: NMC. 51.1 kWh Standard Range: chemistry not listed in our source.",
   "s": [
    "evdb-mg-zs"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "Ask for the SoH on the MG service record or read the car's own figure with an OBD app, then confirm with an independent test – car-reported figures are not independently validated.",
    "s": [
     "mgevs-zs-taxi"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the ZS EV 44.5, 51.1 and 72.6 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "MG UK (warranty statement for cars registered on/after 1 Sep 2019, online version dated 1 Jan 2025): vehicle 7 years / 80,000 miles; the lithium-ion high-voltage battery is listed at 96 months / 100,000 miles with capacity below 70% of original treated as excessive loss. Early ZS EVs (from 2019) may be close to or past the end of cover – confirm the start date and terms for the specific car with MG.",
   "source": "mg-uk-warranty",
   "short": "HV battery 8 yrs / 100,000 mi, below 70% capacity (MG UK statement 2025)"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Ask about the 12V battery: owners report repeated flat 12V batteries on some ZS EVs, caused by modules not going to sleep; dealers have applied software updates and hard resets. Check for a recent 12V test and that software updates were done.",
    "s": [
     "mgevs-zs-12v"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Know the pack: 44.5 kWh (2019–2021), 51.1 kWh or 72.6 kWh (facelift). No independent result for the 72.6 kWh pack was found yet – one UK dealer FLASH test of a 72.6 kWh car was inconclusive.",
    "s": [
     "evdb-mg-zs",
     "cert-car360-zs-inconclusive"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Nyland's 2019 car lost 11.1% of measured capacity by 74,000 km and 5 years, but it had been used in Bangkok's heat – one car, not a typical value.",
    "s": [
     "nyland-tb-degradation"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Only single-car results (n=1) so far. No multi-car dataset for any ZS EV pack, and nothing independent for the 72.6 kWh Long Range. The 91% taxi figure (238,000 miles) is the car's own reading quoted in a forum. Owner contributions welcome – especially 72.6 kWh cars.",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "mg-mg5",
  "name": "MG5 EV",
  "make": "MG",
  "short": "MG5",
  "variants": "52.5 kWh and 61.1 kWh (2020–2022 estate), then 50.3 kWh Standard Range (LFP) and 61.1 kWh Long Range (NMC) after the 2022 facelift",
  "intro": "The MG5 is an electric estate. We have not yet found any published SoH measurement we can cite for it, so this page currently covers the battery options, chemistry, warranty and how to get one tested.",
  "introSources": [
   "evdb-mg5"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "Facelift (2022–2025) Standard Range 50.3 kWh: LFP; Long Range 61.1 kWh: NMC. Chemistry of the 2020–2022 cars is not listed in our source.",
   "s": [
    "evdb-mg5"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "Ask for the SoH on the MG service record and confirm with an independent test.",
    "s": [
     "mgevs-mg4-soh"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the MG5 Electric SR 50.3 kWh and LR 61.1 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "MG UK (warranty statement, online version dated 1 Jan 2025): vehicle 7 years / 80,000 miles; HV battery listed at 96 months / 100,000 miles with capacity below 70% treated as excessive loss. Private-hire/taxi registered EVs: vehicle 3 years / 60,000 miles (80,000 miles if registered from 22 Mar 2024), HV battery 8 years / 100,000 miles from 1 Jan 2025 – check how the car was registered.",
   "source": "mg-uk-warranty",
   "short": "HV battery 8 yrs / 100,000 mi, below 70% capacity (MG UK statement 2025)"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Check whether the car was registered as a private-hire vehicle with MG – the general warranty is shorter for those cars.",
    "s": [
     "mg-uk-warranty"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Only owner-reported readings (n=1, car/OBD values from owner forums) so far; no independent test dataset or dealer certificate yet. Please share yours.",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "byd-atto-3",
  "name": "BYD Atto 3",
  "make": "BYD",
  "short": "Atto 3",
  "variants": "60.48 kWh LFP \"Blade\" battery (UK cars); AVILOO also lists 49.92 and 58.56 kWh versions sold in other markets",
  "intro": "BYD's compact SUV uses BYD's own LFP \"Blade\" cells. Published independent results are dealer AVILOO certificates for single cars, from the UK and Australia.",
  "introSources": [
   "evdb-byd-atto3",
   "aviloo-coverage"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "LFP (lithium iron phosphate), BYD Blade prismatic cells.",
   "s": [
    "evdb-byd-atto3"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "Ask the seller to fully charge the car (ideally a full AC charge) before you inspect or test it, so the battery management system can balance the cells – MG, for example, says a full slow charge is the only way for its battery to reach the balanced \"equalisation\" state.",
    "s": [
     "mg4-owner-manual"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the Atto 3 49.92, 58.56 and 60.48 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "BYD (warranty manual for EEA, UK and Switzerland): power battery 8 years (96 months) or 250,000 km (155,350 miles), whichever comes first, with a minimum of 70% capacity retention (SOH ≥ 70%). Basic vehicle cover 6 years / 150,000 km. Gradual capacity loss above the 70% threshold is not covered. Confirm the terms for the specific car with BYD.",
   "source": "byd-uk-warranty",
   "short": "8 yrs / 250,000 km (155,350 mi), SOH ≥ 70%"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Compare the AVILOO figure with the BMS figure on the certificate – on the published Atto 3 certificates they were within about 1 point.",
    "s": [
     "cert-car360-atto3",
     "cert-carma-atto3-a"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Single-car certificates only (n=1). Two of three are Australian cars (hotter climate). BYD is not in the Swedish Carla study and Atto 3 is not in AVILOO's 2026 20-model report. Owner contributions welcome.",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "byd-dolphin",
  "name": "BYD Dolphin",
  "make": "BYD",
  "short": "Dolphin",
  "variants": "44.9 kWh and 60.48 kWh LFP Blade battery",
  "intro": "The Dolphin hatchback uses BYD's LFP Blade cells. We have found only one published independent SoH result so far, from a very low-mileage car.",
  "introSources": [
   "evdb-byd-dolphin"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "LFP, BYD Blade prismatic cells (44.9 and 60.5 kWh usable).",
   "s": [
    "evdb-byd-dolphin"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "Ask the seller to fully charge the car (ideally a full AC charge) before you inspect or test it, so the battery management system can balance the cells – MG, for example, says a full slow charge is the only way for its battery to reach the balanced \"equalisation\" state.",
    "s": [
     "mg4-owner-manual"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the Dolphin 44.9, 58.56 and 60.48 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "BYD (warranty manual for EEA, UK and Switzerland): power battery 8 years (96 months) or 250,000 km (155,350 miles), whichever comes first, with a minimum of 70% capacity retention (SOH ≥ 70%). Basic vehicle cover 6 years / 150,000 km. Gradual capacity loss above the 70% threshold is not covered. Confirm the terms for the specific car with BYD.",
   "source": "byd-uk-warranty",
   "short": "8 yrs / 250,000 km (155,350 mi), SOH ≥ 70%"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Do not confuse it with the smaller Dolphin Surf (2025-on), a different car with different battery sizes.",
    "s": [
     "evdb-byd-dolphin"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "One single-car certificate (n=1, 7,902 km, Australia). No higher-mileage independent data found yet. Please share yours.",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "byd-seal",
  "name": "BYD Seal",
  "make": "BYD",
  "short": "Seal",
  "variants": "82.5 kWh LFP Blade battery (UK RWD Design and AWD Excellence); AVILOO also lists a 64 kWh version",
  "intro": "The Seal saloon uses an 82.5 kWh LFP Blade pack in UK versions. One published independent certificate so far.",
  "introSources": [
   "evdb-byd-seal"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "LFP, BYD Blade prismatic cells (82.5 kWh usable).",
   "s": [
    "evdb-byd-seal"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "Ask the seller to fully charge the car (ideally a full AC charge) before you inspect or test it, so the battery management system can balance the cells – MG, for example, says a full slow charge is the only way for its battery to reach the balanced \"equalisation\" state.",
    "s": [
     "mg4-owner-manual"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the Seal 64 and 82.56 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "BYD (warranty manual for EEA, UK and Switzerland): power battery 8 years (96 months) or 250,000 km (155,350 miles), whichever comes first, with a minimum of 70% capacity retention (SOH ≥ 70%). Basic vehicle cover 6 years / 150,000 km. Gradual capacity loss above the 70% threshold is not covered. Confirm the terms for the specific car with BYD.",
   "source": "byd-uk-warranty",
   "short": "8 yrs / 250,000 km (155,350 mi), SOH ≥ 70%"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Do not confuse the Seal saloon with the Seal U (SUV, incl. DM-i plug-in hybrid) or Sealion 7 – they have different batteries.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "One single-car certificate (n=1, 50,559 km, Australia). Please share yours.",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "gwm-ora-03",
  "name": "GWM Ora 03 / Funky Cat",
  "make": "GWM",
  "short": "Ora 03",
  "variants": "47.8 kWh (LFP) and 63.1 kWh (NMC); sold in the UK first as the ORA Funky Cat (2022–2023), then as the GWM ORA 03",
  "intro": "The Ora 03 (originally Funky Cat) is a small Chinese-brand hatchback with either an LFP or an NMC battery. We have not yet found a citable published SoH measurement.",
  "introSources": [
   "evdb-ora"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "47.8 kWh nominal (45.4 kWh usable): LFP. 63.1 kWh nominal (59.3 kWh usable, e.g. GT): NMC.",
   "s": [
    "evdb-ora"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the Ora 3 47.8 and 63.1 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "GWM UK: traction battery 8 years or 100,000 miles against manufacturing defects; normal capacity degradation is not a defect, provided the measured SoH does not fall below 70% before the warranty expires.",
   "source": "gwm-ora-uk-warranty",
   "short": "8 yrs / 100,000 mi, SoH not below 70%"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Check whether the car has the LFP (47.8 kWh) or NMC (63.1 kWh) pack.",
    "s": [
     "evdb-ora"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Only owner-reported app/OBD readings (n=1) so far; owners dispute how reliable the app figure is. No independent test dataset yet. Please share yours.",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "polestar-2",
  "name": "Polestar 2",
  "make": "Polestar",
  "short": "Polestar 2",
  "variants": "64 kWh and 78 kWh (2020–2023, NMC; Long Range cells from CATL or LG Chem), then 69/70 kWh and 82 kWh (2024 on, NMC)",
  "intro": "The Polestar 2 is built in Luqiao, China. It is the best-documented Chinese-built EV here: AVILOO's 2026 report includes 17,155 tests, and two Swedish dealer datasets give results by battery supplier.",
  "introSources": [
   "polestar-luqiao",
   "aviloo-2026",
   "carla-2026-models"
  ],
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "NMC for all versions (64/78 kWh 2020–2023; 70/82 kWh 2024–2025).",
   "s": [
    "evdb-polestar2"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "Polestar workshops can issue an official battery state-of-health certificate (cyclable capacity at 25°C vs nominal).",
    "s": [
     "cert-polestar-brandt"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the Polestar 2 64–82 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Polestar UK: battery 8 years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first; if SoH drops below 70% of original capacity within the first 8 years the battery is repaired or replaced at no cost. Vehicle warranty 3 years / 60,000 miles.",
   "source": "polestar-uk-warranty",
   "short": "8 yrs / 100,000 mi, SoH below 70%"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Find out the battery supplier on a 78 kWh car: in Carla's data CATL-cell cars averaged 94.35% and LG Chem 93.53% after more than 100,000 km.",
    "s": [
     "carla-2026-models"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Riddermarks found 99.6% of 273 tested Polestar 2 78 kWh cars above 90% SoH (average 88,050 km).",
    "s": [
     "riddermarks-2026"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Large datasets group the 64/78 kWh cars; little independent data yet for the 2024-on 69/70/82 kWh packs (one single-car Moba certificate and one Polestar certificate).",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "xpeng-g6-p7",
  "name": "Xpeng G6 / P7",
  "make": "Xpeng",
  "short": "Xpeng",
  "variants": "G6: 66 kWh Standard Range (LFP) and 87.5 kWh usable Long Range (NMC) for MY24, later 80.8 kWh versions; P7: 86.2 kWh (NMC)",
  "intro": "Xpeng sells the G6 SUV in the UK; this page also covers the P7 saloon. The G6 comes with an LFP or an NMC pack depending on version. No citable published SoH measurement found yet.",
  "introSources": [
   "xpeng-uk-warranty",
   "evdb-xpeng"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "G6 Standard Range 66 kWh: LFP. G6 Long Range (MY24, 92 kWh nominal): NMC. P7 86.2 kWh: NMC.",
   "s": [
    "evdb-xpeng"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the Xpeng G6 (66, 80.8, 87.5 kWh) and P7 86.2 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "XPENG UK (G6 warranty leaflet): battery eight years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first. The leaflet does not state the capacity threshold – ask XPENG what SoH level triggers a claim.",
   "source": "xpeng-uk-warranty",
   "short": "8 yrs / 100,000 mi (threshold not stated in UK leaflet)"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "G6 battery sizes changed between model years – check the exact pack on the V5C / spec sheet.",
    "s": [
     "evdb-xpeng",
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Only two owner-reported G6 readings (n=1) so far and nothing for the P7. No independent test dataset yet. Please share yours.",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "nio-et5",
  "name": "NIO ET5",
  "make": "NIO",
  "short": "ET5",
  "warrantyRegion": "EU (Germany)",
  "variants": "75 kWh Standard Range (mixed LFP and NMC cells) and 100 kWh Long Range (NMC)",
  "intro": "The ET5 saloon is sold in mainland Europe; this page uses NIO's German warranty terms. No citable published SoH measurement found yet, and AVILOO did not list NIO among its supported vehicles when we checked.",
  "introSources": [
   "evdb-nio-et5",
   "nio-de-warranty",
   "aviloo-coverage"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "75 kWh: \"LFP & NMC\" (mixed). 100 kWh: NMC.",
   "s": [
    "evdb-nio-et5"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "AVILOO did not list NIO models as supported when checked, so ask NIO for a battery health report for the pack currently fitted.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "NIO Germany: 8 years or 160,000 km on the NIO battery; ET5/ET5 Touring basic warranty 3 years or 90,000 km (extendable). Terms in other countries may differ.",
   "source": "nio-de-warranty",
   "short": "8 yrs / 160,000 km (Germany)"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Ask NIO for a battery health report for the pack fitted to the car, and confirm which warranty applies in your country.",
    "s": [
     "nio-de-warranty"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Only Chinese used-car listing figures (n=1) so far; battery-swap cars may not carry their original pack. No European data yet. Please share yours.",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "volvo-ex30",
  "name": "Volvo EX30",
  "make": "Volvo",
  "short": "EX30",
  "variants": "51 kWh Single Motor (LFP) and 69 kWh Single Motor Extended Range / Twin Motor (NMC)",
  "intro": "The EX30 was built only in China (Geely's Zhangjiakou plant) until production also started in Ghent, Belgium in April 2025, so early cars are Chinese-built. It is offered with an LFP or an NMC battery.",
  "introSources": [
   "electrive-ex30-ghent",
   "evdb-ex30"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "51 kWh: LFP. 69 kWh: NMC.",
   "s": [
    "evdb-ex30"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the EX 30 51 and 69 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Volvo UK: high-voltage battery 8 years or 100,000 miles from first delivery, whichever comes first; repairs to return capacity to at least 70% of original if SoH drops below 70% due to a manufacturing or material defect. Vehicle warranty 3 years / 60,000 miles.",
   "source": "volvo-uk-warranty",
   "short": "8 yrs / 100,000 mi, below 70%"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Check whether the car has the 51 kWh LFP or 69 kWh NMC pack.",
    "s": [
     "evdb-ex30"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Two single-car certificates only (n=1 each, low mileage). Please share yours.",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "dacia-spring",
  "name": "Dacia Spring",
  "make": "Dacia",
  "short": "Spring",
  "variants": "First-generation Spring with a 26.8 kWh nominal battery (27.4 kWh gross on AVILOO certificates; NMC on 2024–2025 cars). A 2026 update lists a 24.3 kWh LFP pack",
  "intro": "The first-generation Spring was made in China by Dongfeng; Dacia announced in September 2026 that the next Spring will be built in Slovenia. Five French AVILOO certificates give a first look at real-world SoH.",
  "introSources": [
   "ev-spring-slovenia",
   "evdb-spring"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "Electric 45 (2024–2025): NMC, 26.8 kWh nominal. Electric 70 (2026): LFP, 24.3 kWh nominal.",
   "s": [
    "evdb-spring"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the Spring Electric 27.4 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "Dacia UK: the Spring battery is guaranteed for 8 years or 100,000 miles and to retain at least 75% of its charge capacity at the end of that period.",
   "source": "dacia-uk-spring-warranty",
   "short": "8 yrs / 100,000 mi, at least 75% capacity"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Note the warranty threshold is 75%, higher than the 70% most makers use.",
    "s": [
     "dacia-uk-spring-warranty"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Five single-car certificates (n=1 each), all French and all tested by the same remarketing group, 19,614–59,040 km. No UK data yet.",
  "group": "chinese"
 },
 {
  "slug": "smart-1",
  "name": "Smart #1",
  "make": "Smart",
  "short": "#1",
  "variants": "66 kWh (NMC, Pro+/Premium/Brabus) and 49 kWh (LFP, Pure/Pro)",
  "intro": "The Smart #1 compact SUV comes with either an NMC or an LFP battery. No citable published SoH measurement found yet.",
  "introSources": [
   "evdb-smart1"
  ],
  "limited": true,
  "chemistry": {
   "t": "66 kWh: NMC. 49 kWh: LFP.",
   "s": [
    "evdb-smart1"
   ]
  },
  "howToCheck": [
   {
    "t": "smart says battery warranty SoH must be determined by a battery energy content measurement at a smart Authorised Service Partner.",
    "s": [
     "smart-uk-warranty"
    ]
   },
   {
    "t": "Ask for an independent battery test. AVILOO lists FLASH-test support for the Smart #1 49 and 66 kWh packs shown above, so a dealer certificate or a mobile tester can give an SoH figure you can compare with the results on this page.",
    "s": [
     "aviloo-coverage"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "warranty": {
   "text": "smart UK (terms version 21 Mar 2025): high-voltage battery 8 years or 125,000 miles, whichever comes first; replacement if SoH falls below 70% of the SoH at delivery, measured by a smart Authorised Service Partner. HV core components 8 years / 100,000 miles; vehicle 3 years, unlimited mileage.",
   "source": "smart-uk-warranty",
   "short": "8 yrs / 125,000 mi, below 70% of SoH at delivery"
  },
  "checks": [
   {
    "t": "Check whether the car has the 49 kWh LFP or 66 kWh NMC pack.",
    "s": [
     "evdb-smart1"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "gaps": "Only owner-reported figures (n=1) so far, one from a nearly new car. No independent test dataset yet. Please share yours.",
  "group": "chinese"
 }
]
